Last verified October 28, 2026

Ring vs Nest Doorbell: The 2026 Comparison

By Ethan Halfhide · Updated

Pick a Google Nest doorbell if you use Google Home and want some video history with no plan: both Nest models include 3 to 6 hours of event video plus person, animal and vehicle alerts. Pick Ring if you use Alexa, want 4K video, or want up to 180 days of cloud history from $4.99/mo. Neither brand wins outright. Both Nest doorbells are $199.99 on the Google Store. Ring's 4K Pro doorbells start at $249.99, and its 2K doorbells were on sale for $44.99 on October 28, 2026. Prices are from ring.com and store.google.com as of October 2026. Comparing more brands? See our guide to the best doorbell cameras.

Quick verdict

There is no overall winner. Prices come from ring.com and the US Google Store as of October 2026 (fetched October 28, 2026). Ring was running a Halloween sale that day, so for Ring models on sale we give the sale and regular price.

If you want...PickWhy
Video history with no subscriptionNestNest doorbells keep 3 hours (battery) or 6 hours (wired, 3rd gen) of event video. Ring says you cannot review or save video without a Ring Protect plan.
The cheapest plan for one doorbellRingRing Solo is $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr. Google Home Premium starts at $10/mo or $100/yr.
The longest cloud historyRingUp to 180 days on every Ring plan, against 30 or 60 days on Google Home Premium.
Face recognition on one doorbellNest (slightly, if you pay yearly)Familiar faces is in Google Home Premium Standard ($10/mo or $100/yr). On Ring it needs Ring Pro ($19.99/mo) or Ring Solo plus the $5/mo per camera Pro Intelligence add-on ($9.99/mo, about $110/yr).
4K videoRingRing's 4K Pro doorbells record 4K. Google's highest-resolution doorbell records up to 2K.
Alexa or Google HomeRing for Alexa, Nest for Google HomeRing is an Amazon company and lists Alexa support. Nest doorbells need the Google Home app, and also list Alexa support.
The lowest hardware priceRingRing's 2K doorbells were on sale for $44.99 on October 28, 2026 (regular $79.99 and $99.99). Both Nest models are $199.99.

How we chose

  • Current models only, sold on each maker's own US store today. The Ring Video Doorbell Pro 2 that this page used to feature no longer has a product page on ring.com; Ring's security update list now calls it "Wired Doorbell Pro (formerly Video Doorbell Pro 2)", an older model than the Wired Doorbell 4K Pro compared below.
  • Like for like: wired against wired, battery against battery.
  • Price on the maker's store, plus the plan you need for recorded video.
  • What works with no plan, smart home support, wiring needs and published security update dates.

We compared official product pages, spec sheets, plan pages and support articles from Ring and Google. HomeGearLab did not test these doorbells.

Comparison table

Every cell comes from ring.com, store.google.com or support.google.com, fetched October 28, 2026. Prices are as of October 2026.

Nest Doorbell (wired, 3rd gen)Ring Wired Doorbell 4K ProNest Doorbell (battery)Ring Battery Doorbell 4K Pro
Price$199.99From $249.99$199.99From $249.99
PowerDoorbell wiring (16 to 24 VAC)Doorbell wiring (16 or 24 VAC) or plug-in adapter (not included)Battery, or doorbell wiringBattery, or doorbell wiring
VideoUp to 2K (2048 x 2048)4K (2880 x 2880)960 x 1280Retinal 4K
Field of view166° diagonal140° x 140°145° diagonal140° x 140°
Motion sensingNot stated by Google3D Motion DetectionPIR sensorRadar 3D Motion Detection
Wi-Fi2.4 and 5 GHzWi-Fi 6, 2.4 and 5 GHz2.4 and 5 GHzWi-Fi 6, 2.4 and 5 GHz
Video kept with no plan6 hours of previewsNone3 hoursNone
24/7 recording10 days with Premium AdvancedNot stated for this modelNot availableNot stated for this model
Warranty1 year1 year1 year1 year
Security updates until at leastOctober 1, 2030December 31, 2030August 24, 2026 (passed)December 31, 2031

The wired matchup

Nest Doorbell (wired, 3rd gen)

Best for: Google Home homes with doorbell wiring.

It is $199.99 on the Google Store as of October 2026, in Snow, Hazel or Linen. It records up to 2K at 30 frames per second with a 166° square view and 6x digital zoom, and includes 6 hours of event video previews (clips up to 10 seconds) plus person, animal and vehicle alerts. Google Home Premium adds 30 days of event history (Standard) or 60 days plus 10 days of 24/7 video (Advanced), and Google includes one month of Premium Advanced with the doorbell. It works with Gemini for Home and is compatible with Alexa. Google lists its minimum security update date as October 1, 2030. See our Nest Doorbell listing.

Limits: It needs a 16 to 24 VAC, 10 to 40 VA doorbell transformer or Google's Indoor Power Adapter, and wired chimes do not work on that adapter. It requires the Google Home app and a Google Account.

Who should pick it: Google Home users who want the best Nest video and the option of 24/7 recording.

Ring Wired Doorbell 4K Pro

Best for: Alexa homes with doorbell wiring that want 4K video and zoom.

It starts at $249.99 on ring.com as of October 2026 ($249.99 in Deep Silver, $259.99 in its three other colors); Ring says it is the Wired Doorbell Pro (3rd Gen) renamed. It records 4K at 2880 x 2880 with a 140° by 140° head-to-toe view, up to 10x Enhanced Zoom, 3D Motion Detection and true color night vision. It uses Wi-Fi 6, and the box includes a Chime Kit Mini that installs above your existing chime box. Ring's FAQ says it works with Alexa and shows live video on Echo Show and Fire TV. Ring promises security updates until at least December 31, 2030.

Limits: Saved video and person alerts need a Ring Protect plan. Ring recommends at least 15 Mbps of upload speed for 4K. It uses Amazon Sidewalk unless you turn it off.

Who should pick it: Alexa users with doorbell wiring who care most about detail.

The battery matchup

Nest Doorbell (battery)

Best for: renters and homes without doorbell wiring.

It is $199.99 on the Google Store as of October 2026. It records 960 x 1280 HDR video with a 145° tall view, uses a PIR motion sensor and keeps 3 hours of event video history. Google says it keeps recording for an hour if your Wi-Fi drops, and it comes with a theft replacement guarantee. It runs on its battery or on existing doorbell wires (8 to 24 VAC) and works with Alexa or Gemini for Home.

Limits: It cannot record 24/7, and your wired chime will not ring unless you wire it in. Google's security update page lists its five-year minimum date as August 24, 2026. That date has passed, though the page still marks it as receiving critical security updates. Its video resolution is the lowest of the four models above.

Who should pick it: Google Home users who cannot wire a doorbell.

Ring Battery Doorbell 4K Pro

Best for: Alexa homes without doorbell wiring that want 4K.

It starts at $249.99 on ring.com as of October 2026, in four colors; Ring says it is the Battery Doorbell Pro (2nd Gen) renamed. It records Retinal 4K with up to 10x Enhanced Zoom and uses radar-based 3D Motion Detection. It runs on a Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack that charges over USB-C, or can be wired to an 8 to 24 VAC doorbell system, which lets it ring a mechanical chime. Ring promises security updates until at least December 31, 2031. See our Ring Battery Doorbell 4K Pro listing.

Limits: Ring says a plan is required for video recording and person alerts. A spare battery pack is $49.99.

Who should pick it: Alexa users who want the most detailed battery doorbell either brand sells.

The budget option: Ring 2K doorbells

Google sells only the two Nest models. In Ring's Halloween sale on October 28, 2026, the Battery Doorbell 2K was on sale for $44.99 (regular $99.99) and the Wired Doorbell 2K was on sale for $44.99 (regular $79.99). Both record 2K (1920 x 1920), connect only to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and get security updates until at least December 31, 2031. Ring says the Wired Doorbell 2K does not support mechanical chimes. Neither saves video without a plan, so add $49.99 a year for Ring Solo.

Subscriptions: what you really pay

This is the biggest difference. On October 1, 2025 Google renamed Nest Aware (2nd gen) to Google Home Premium: Nest Aware became Standard and Nest Aware Plus became Advanced. Google says Nest Aware is still available through its third-party security partners.

Annual prices as of October 2026, before tax:

What you wantRingNest
Recorded video for one doorbellRing Solo, $49.99 (up to 180 days)Premium Standard, $100 (30 days)
Every device at one homeRing Multi, $99.99 (up to 180 days)Premium Standard, $100 (30 days)
Face recognitionRing Pro, $199.99, or $5/mo per camera add-on on top of Ring Solo or MultiIncluded in Standard, $100
24/7 recording$3/mo per eligible camera, kept up to 14 daysPremium Advanced, $200 (wired doorbell only)
No planLive View, alerts, Two-Way Talk; no saved video3 or 6 hours of event video; person, animal and vehicle alerts

Monthly, Ring costs $4.99 (Solo), $9.99 (Multi), $19.99 (Pro, which adds 24/7 Professional Monitoring for Ring Alarm) or $99 (Virtual Security Guard). Google Home Premium is $10 (Standard) or $20 (Advanced). Ring starts a 30-day free trial when you set up a device.

Two catches on Ring: a separate plan is needed for every address, and its AI features are not available in Illinois (Familiar Faces is also unavailable in Texas and Portland, Oregon). On Google's side, searchable video history, event descriptions and daily summaries need Advanced. If any monthly fee is a dealbreaker, see our list of doorbells with no subscription.

Ecosystems and lock-in

Ring's own site names Amazon as its parent organization. Ring doorbells are managed in the Ring app, and we did not find Google Home support stated on the Ring product and plan pages we read. If your home runs on Alexa, browse our Alexa smart home devices page.

Nest doorbells are set up only in the Google Home app with a Google Account, but Google lists Alexa support for both models, so Nest is the more flexible pick if you use both assistants. For the Google side, see our Google Home devices page. Either way, recordings and plans stay in each brand's own app, so choose the app you already use.

What we could not verify

  • Whether Ring's 4K Pro doorbells can use the $3/mo 24/7 recording add-on; Ring says only "select devices".
  • Whether Nest package alerts work without a plan: Google's doorbell comparison lists them as built in, but its plan tables put package detection under Google Home Premium.
  • Battery life figures for the Nest Doorbell (battery) and the Ring 4K Pro, and IP ratings for Ring doorbells.
  • How long Google will keep updating the Nest Doorbell (battery) now that its minimum date has passed.

Verdict

Choose Nest if your home runs on Google Home, you want alerts and a few hours of video with no plan, or face recognition included in the entry plan; the wired 3rd gen is the better Nest buy. Choose Ring if you use Alexa, want 4K, longer cloud history or the cheapest hardware; the Battery Doorbell 4K Pro and Wired Doorbell 4K Pro are its 4K picks in this price range. To see other brands against Ring, read our Arlo vs Ring comparison, Wyze vs Ring or Ring doorbell alternatives.

Ring and Nest doorbells listed on HomeGearLab (card numbers are not a ranking)

1
Google logo

Google

Google Nest Doorbell

Google's video doorbell in wired (3rd gen, 2K) and battery (960p) versions with built-in intelligent alerts

$200
$150-$200
  • +Built-in intelligent alerts for people, packages, animals and vehicles
  • +Set up and managed in the Google Home app
  • −Longer video history needs a Google Home Premium subscription (from $10/month on the Google Store as of October 2026)
  • −Requires the Google Home app and a Google Account
2
Ring Battery Doorbell 4K Pro (2nd Gen)

Ring

Ring Battery Doorbell 4K Pro (2nd Gen)

Battery video doorbell with Retinal 4K head-to-toe video and radar-based 3D Motion Detection.

$250
$200+
  • +Retinal 4K head-to-toe video (140 x 140 degrees) with up to 10x Enhanced Zoom
  • +Radar-based 3D Motion Detection for person, package and vehicle alerts
  • −Ring Protect plan needed for video recording and person alerts (from $4.99/mo as of September 2026)
  • −Ring lists Alexa support only; its product page does not mention Google Home or Apple Home

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Is Ring owned by Amazon?

Yes. Ring's own website names Amazon as its parent organization, and Ring doorbells are built around Amazon services: Ring's FAQs say its doorbells work with Alexa and Echo Show, and Ring's Wired Doorbell 4K Pro uses Amazon Sidewalk unless you turn it off. Google Nest doorbells are made by Google and are managed in the Google Home app.

How much does Ring cost per month?

As of October 2026, Ring Protect plans cost $4.99/mo for Ring Solo (one doorbell or camera), $9.99/mo for Ring Multi (every device at one location), $19.99/mo for Ring Pro and $99/mo for Virtual Security Guard, plus tax. Solo and Multi are also $49.99 and $99.99 a year. For comparison, Google Home Premium for Nest doorbells is $10/mo (Standard) or $20/mo (Advanced).

Do Nest doorbells work without a subscription?

Yes. With no plan, the Nest Doorbell (battery) keeps 3 hours of event video history and the Nest Doorbell (wired, 3rd gen) keeps 6 hours of event video previews, and both send person, animal and vehicle alerts, show live view and let you talk to visitors. Ring doorbells also give live view, real-time alerts and two-way talk with no plan, but Ring says you cannot review or save any video without Ring Protect.

What is the downside of Ring?

Ring saves no video without a plan, and Ring says person alerts also need one. Each plan covers one device or one location, so a second address needs a second plan. Familiar Faces needs Ring Pro ($19.99/mo) or a $5/mo per camera add-on on top of Ring Solo or Multi, and it is not available in Illinois, Texas or Portland, Oregon. Ring also recommends at least 15 Mbps of upload speed for its 4K doorbells.

Does a Ring doorbell work with Google Home?

Ring does not say so. Ring's doorbell pages and FAQs describe Alexa, Echo Show and Fire TV support, and we found no Google Home support stated on the Ring product and plan pages we read. Nest doorbells go the other way: Google lists Alexa support for both models, alongside Gemini for Home.

Which is better for a wired doorbell, Ring or Nest?

It depends on your ecosystem. The Nest Doorbell (wired, 3rd gen) is $199.99, records up to 2K with a 166° view, keeps 6 hours of event previews with no plan and can record 24/7 with Google Home Premium Advanced. Ring's Wired Doorbell 4K Pro starts at $249.99, records 4K with up to 10x zoom, includes a Chime Kit Mini, and needs a Ring Protect plan for any saved video (prices as of October 2026).

Sources

About the author

Ethan Halfhide: Ethan Halfhide is a smart home enthusiast and AI technologist who follows the connected home market closely, from smart locks and security cameras to robot vacuums, lighting, sensors and hubs. He curates HomeGearLab's device directory, comparing products on published specs, compatibility, setup requirements and price so readers can pick gear that fits their home and works together.