Blink vs Ring: Plans, Storage and Which to Buy (2026)
By Ethan Halfhide · Updated
Short answer: pick Blink if you want to save clips with no monthly fee (a Sync Module 2 with a USB drive, or a Sync Module XR with a microSD card, stores them locally), the cheapest single-camera plan ($3.99/mo) or a battery camera that runs up to 2 years on AA batteries. Pick Ring if you have several cameras (Ring Multi is $9.99/mo vs $11.99/mo for Blink Plus), or want up to 180 days of video, 4K models or professional monitoring. Prices are from blinkforhome.com and ring.com as of October 2026.
RingProduct images: Ring
Quick verdict
Prices and plan limits on this page come from blinkforhome.com, Blink's support site and ring.com as of October 2026 (fetched October 3, 2026). No reseller prices are used. There is no overall winner: the pick depends on how many cameras you have and whether you want to pay monthly.
| If you want... | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| To save clips with no monthly fee | Blink | With a Sync Module 2 and a USB drive, or a Sync Module XR and a microSD card, Blink saves motion clips locally with no plan. Ring says reviewing recorded video requires a Ring subscription. |
| The cheapest plan for one camera | Blink | Blink Basic is $3.99/mo or $39.99/yr. Ring Solo is $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr. |
| The cheapest plan for every camera at one home | Ring | Ring Multi is $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr for all devices at one location. Blink Plus is $11.99/mo or $119.99/yr for unlimited devices. |
| Longer cloud video history | Ring | Ring stores motion event videos for up to 180 days. Blink stores cloud video for up to 60 days in the US. |
| 4K video or Power over Ethernet | Ring | Ring lists Retinal 4K doorbells and cameras, and Power over Ethernet models. The highest resolution on Blink's products page is 2K. |
| A stated battery life figure | Blink | Blink says the Outdoor 4 runs up to 2 years on two AA lithium batteries with default settings. Ring's Outdoor Cam page lists a rechargeable battery pack and gives no battery life figure. |
| A battery camera with no hub | Ring | Blink's Outdoor 4 requires a Sync Module. Ring's Outdoor Cam (Battery) lists only its battery pack as a setup requirement and connects over 2.4GHz Wi-Fi. |
| Professional monitoring | Ring | Ring Pro ($19.99/mo) includes 24/7 Professional Monitoring for Ring Alarm. Blink's products and plans pages list no alarm system or monitoring service. |
Plans and prices (as of October 2026)
Most of the difference between Blink and Ring is what you pay each year to keep video.
Blink plans
Blink's US plans page lists four plans:
- Basic ($3.99/mo or $39.99/yr): one device. Cloud video storage for up to 60 days, live view recording, person and vehicle detection on supported cameras, Blink Moments, photo capture and notification snooze.
- Plus ($11.99/mo or $119.99/yr): the same for unlimited devices, plus extended warranty coverage.
- Basic ai ($6.99/mo or $69.99/yr, with a $49.99 first year price): one device, adding Blink Video Descriptions, Unusual Activity Alerts, Single Event Alerts and Known Faces (beta).
- Plus ai ($19.99/mo or $199.99/yr, with a $149.99 first year price): unlimited devices with the same AI features.
Blink's support site lists a 10% discount on Blink device purchases for subscribers, or 20% on annual ai plans (terms and conditions apply). Blink's AI plans are not available in Illinois, and Known Faces is not available in Illinois, Texas or Portland, Oregon. Blink raised US prices effective October 8, 2025: Basic went from $3 to $3.99 a month and Plus from $10 to $11.99 a month.
Ring Protect plans
Ring's plans page lists four plans:
- Ring Solo ($4.99/mo or $49.99/yr): one doorbell or camera. Up to 180 days of video playback, person, package and vehicle alerts on select devices, Extended Live View and Device Modes.
- Ring Multi ($9.99/mo or $99.99/yr): the same for all devices at one location, plus extended warranty.
- Ring Pro ($19.99/mo or $199.99/yr): everything in Multi, plus Video Descriptions, Familiar Faces (beta), Active Warnings, Video Search and 24/7 Professional Monitoring.
- Virtual Security Guard ($99/mo): everything in Pro, plus live video monitoring by real agents.
Add-ons: Pro Intelligence puts Ring Pro's smart features on one camera for $5/mo on Solo or Multi, and 24/7 Continuous Recording is $3/mo per eligible camera, with recordings stored for up to 14 days. Ring says you need a separate plan for each address. Familiar Faces is not available in Illinois, Texas or Portland, Oregon.
What a year of cloud recording costs
Annual prices as of October 2026:
| Setup | Blink | Ring |
|---|---|---|
| One doorbell or camera | $39.99 (Basic) | $49.99 (Ring Solo) |
| Every camera at one home | $119.99 (Plus) | $99.99 (Ring Multi) |
| Every camera, with AI alerts and descriptions | $199.99 (Plus ai; $149.99 in the first year) | $199.99 (Ring Pro, which also includes professional monitoring) |
| No plan | $0. Live view and alerts; clips only with a Sync Module 2 or XR and storage | $0. Live View and alerts; no recorded video |
Blink costs $10 a year less for one camera. For a whole home, Ring Multi costs $20 a year less than Blink Plus and keeps cloud video three times as long (180 days against 60).
Feature and setup matrix
Every cell is from the makers' own pages, fetched October 3, 2026.
| Blink | Ring | |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Site footer reads "Blink, An Amazon Company" | About page data names Amazon as parent organization; press page lists the April 2018 close of the Amazon acquisition |
| App | Blink Home Monitor | Ring app |
| Cheapest plan | Basic: $3.99/mo or $39.99/yr, one device | Ring Solo: $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr, one doorbell or camera |
| Plan for every device | Plus: $11.99/mo or $119.99/yr, unlimited devices | Ring Multi: $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr, all devices at one location |
| Plan with AI features | Basic ai: $6.99/mo or $69.99/yr. Plus ai: $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr | Ring Pro: $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr. Pro Intelligence add-on: $5/mo per camera |
| Free plan trial | 30 days | 30 days |
| Cloud video history | Up to 60 days (US) | Up to 180 days |
| Saved video with no plan | Only with local storage hardware | None |
| Local storage | USB drive on a Sync Module 2, or microSD card on a Sync Module XR, 1 GB to 256 GB | microSD card in Ring Alarm Pro, ticked only under Ring Pro and Virtual Security Guard in Ring's plan table |
| Free features with no plan | Live view, motion alerts, two-way audio | Live View, motion alerts, Two-Way Talk, Motion Zones, Alexa |
| Live view length | 5 minutes with no plan; up to 90 minutes with a plan on wired and plug-in cameras | Up to 10 minutes with no plan; up to 30 minutes with a plan |
| Smart alerts (plan needed) | Person and vehicle detection on supported cameras | Person, package and vehicle alerts on select devices |
| 24/7 continuous recording | Not stated by Blink | $3/mo per eligible camera, stored up to 14 days |
| Professional monitoring | Not stated by Blink | 24/7 Professional Monitoring with Ring Pro |
| Top resolution listed | 2K | Retinal 4K |
| Power options | AA lithium batteries, USB-C plug-in, doorbell wiring, hardwired floodlight, solar battery pack | Battery, plug-in, solar, wired, Power over Ethernet |
| Hub | Sync Module required for Outdoor 4, Outdoor 2K+ and Battery Doorbell 2K+; not for Mini cameras | No hub in the setup requirements of the Ring models compared below |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz on Outdoor 4 and Mini 2 | 2.4GHz on Outdoor Cam and Indoor Cam; dual-band Wi-Fi 6 on Battery Doorbell 4K Pro |
| Voice assistants | Alexa. Google Home and Apple Home: not stated by Blink | Alexa. Google Home and Apple Home: not stated by Ring |
| Extended warranty | With Plus and Plus ai | With Ring Multi, Ring Pro and Virtual Security Guard |
| Professional installation | Not stated by Blink | From $129.99 per device |
Storage: what records with and without a plan
Blink gives you three levels:
- No plan, no storage. Live view, motion alerts and two-way audio. No clips are saved.
- No plan, local storage. A Sync Module 2 saves clips to a USB drive, and a Sync Module XR saves them to a microSD card. The drive or card must be 1 GB to 256 GB. Clips stay until you delete them or the drive is full, and when it is full, new recordings stop until you free up space. Local clips can be viewed in the Blink app.
- A plan. Cloud video for up to 60 days in the US. If a Sync Module 2 or XR with storage is attached, cloud clips are also backed up to it once every 24 hours, and those backups can only be viewed on a computer.
The hardware matters. The Sync Module Core, which Blink says comes only in Outdoor 4 and Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) bundles and is not sold separately, does not support local storage or clip backup. The USB drive or microSD card is sold separately. The older XT, XT2 and Indoor (1st Gen) cameras do not support local storage.
Ring records only with a plan. Ring says reviewing recorded video on its cameras and doorbells requires a Ring subscription, and that only events that occur after you subscribe are recorded. The one local option on Ring's plans page is a microSD card in a Ring Alarm Pro, which Ring's plan comparison table ticks only under Ring Pro and Virtual Security Guard.
Model by model, like with like
HomeGearLab lists two Blink cameras and one Ring doorbell, which are not like-for-like. So each Blink camera is set here against the closest Ring model on ring.com, and the doorbell is covered on its own.
Blink's current lineup and the two Blink models listed here
On October 3, 2026, Blink's products page (blinkforhome.com/products) listed these devices with "Starting at" prices: Outdoor 2K+ ($99.99), Mini 2K+ ($49.99), Battery Doorbell 2K+ ($79.99), Blink Arc 2K+ ($99.99), Wired Floodlight Camera ($99.99), Outdoor 4 Floodlight Camera ($129.98) and Mini Pan-Tilt ($39.99). It also listed the Wired Doorbell 2K+ with no price. Blink calls the Outdoor 2K+ its next-generation camera and the Mini 2K+ its third-generation compact plug-in camera.
The two Blink cameras listed on HomeGearLab, the Outdoor 4 and the Mini 2, are earlier models and are not among those product listings. The Mini 2 does not appear on Blink's products page at all. The Outdoor 4 camera is named there only in the descriptions of the Sync Module XR, the Solaris Battery Pack and the Outdoor 4 Floodlight Camera, with no price of its own. Both are still documented on Blink's support site (technical specifications, FAQ and setup guides), which is where their specs on this page come from. So the comparisons below describe those two models, not Blink's newest cameras.
Plug-in indoor cameras: Blink Mini 2 and Ring Indoor Cam (2nd Gen)
| Blink Mini 2 | Ring Indoor Cam (2nd Gen) | |
|---|---|---|
| Video | Up to 1080p | 1080p HD |
| Field of view | 143 degrees diagonal, 115 horizontal, 59 vertical | 143 degrees diagonal, 115 horizontal, 59 vertical |
| Power | USB-C, 6.5 ft cable | Micro USB, 6.5 ft cable |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz 802.11b/g/n | 2.4GHz 802.11 b/g/n |
| Night vision | Infrared LED plus a built-in spotlight for night view in color | Night Vision |
| Privacy cover | Not stated by Blink | Manual, removable Privacy Cover |
| Outdoor use | IP65 with the Blink Weather Resistant Power Adapter (sold separately) | Indoor only |
| Hub | Not required | None in the setup requirements |
| Price as of October 2026 | No official price: not listed on Blink's products page | $24.99 on ring.com on October 3, 2026 ("Was" price $49.99) |
Both are 1080p plug-in cameras with the same stated field of view. The Mini 2 adds a spotlight and optional outdoor use; the Ring Indoor Cam adds a physical privacy cover. Blink's products page does not list the Mini 2; it lists the newer Mini 2K+ (starting at $49.99 as of October 2026). For more options, see our best indoor security cameras guide.
Battery outdoor cameras: Blink Outdoor 4 and Ring Outdoor Cam (Battery)
| Blink Outdoor 4 | Ring Outdoor Cam (Battery) | |
|---|---|---|
| Video | 1080p HD, up to 30 fps | 1080p HD |
| Field of view | 143 degrees diagonal | 130 degrees diagonal, 110 horizontal, 57 vertical |
| Power | 2 AA lithium non-rechargeable batteries | Rechargeable Quick Release Battery Pack; optional solar panel (sold separately) |
| Battery life | Up to 2 years with default settings | Not stated by Ring |
| Hub | Blink Sync Module required | None in the setup requirements |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz 802.11b/g/n | 2.4GHz 802.11 b/g/n |
| Weather resistance | IP65 | Weather Resistant (no IP code stated by Ring) |
| Operating temperature | -4 to 113 degrees F | -5 to 122 degrees F |
| Generation and release | 4th Gen; release year not stated on the Blink pages we read | Outdoor Cam (2nd Gen), 2019 release |
| Price as of October 2026 | No official price: Blink's products page shows no price for the Outdoor 4 camera | $39.99 on ring.com on October 3, 2026 ("Was" price $79.99) |
The Blink camera has a stated battery life (up to 2 years with default settings) and needs a hub. Ring's page gives no battery life figure; the Ring camera has a rechargeable pack, lists no hub in its setup requirements and needs a plan to record anything. We found no official price for the Outdoor 4, so the two are not compared on price here. For other brands, see our best outdoor smart cameras guide.
Doorbells: no like-for-like match
The Ring device listed on HomeGearLab is the Battery Doorbell 4K Pro: Retinal 4K video, a 140 by 140 degree head-to-toe view, dual-band Wi-Fi 6 and a Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack. On October 3, 2026 ring.com showed it at $149.99, with a "Was" price of $249.99. Blink's products page lists no 4K doorbell. Blink's newest battery doorbell is the Battery Doorbell 2K+ (starting at $79.99 on blinkforhome.com as of October 2026), which records 1920 x 1920, runs on three AA lithium batteries and requires a Sync Module. Ring's lowest priced 2K battery doorbell is the Battery Doorbell 2K ($39.99 that day, "Was" price $99.99).
Hardware prices (as of October 2026)
| Brand | Model | Price on the maker's own site | Sale price seen on October 3, 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blink | Outdoor 4 | No price on blinkforhome.com | Not applicable |
| Blink | Mini 2 | Not listed on blinkforhome.com | Not applicable |
| Blink | Mini 2K+ | Starting at $49.99 | None shown on blinkforhome.com |
| Blink | Battery Doorbell 2K+ | Starting at $79.99 | None shown on blinkforhome.com |
| Blink | Outdoor 2K+ | Starting at $99.99 | None shown on blinkforhome.com |
| Ring | Indoor Cam | Was $49.99 | Now $24.99 |
| Ring | Indoor Cam 2K | Was $59.99 | Now starting at $29.99 |
| Ring | Outdoor Cam (Battery) | Was $79.99 | Now $39.99 |
| Ring | Outdoor Cam 2K | Was $99.99 | Now starting at $49.99 |
| Ring | Battery Doorbell 2K | Was $99.99 | Now $39.99 |
| Ring | Battery Doorbell 4K Pro | Was $249.99 | Now $149.99 |
Blink's "starting at" prices are from blinkforhome.com, which does not sell devices itself: its shop buttons link out to a retailer. This page uses no reseller prices, which is why the Outdoor 4 and Mini 2 rows have no price. Ring's prices are the "Was" and "Now" prices shown on ring.com, which was running a sale that day, so compare the price on the day you buy.
Trade-offs
Blink
- The Outdoor 4 needs a Sync Module, and the Sync Module Core that comes only in bundles does not support local storage.
- Local storage stops recording when the drive is full, and plan backups on the drive can only be viewed on a computer.
- Cloud video is kept for up to 60 days in the US, against up to 180 days on Ring.
- The Outdoor 4 and Mini 2 record 1080p, and the highest resolution on Blink's products page is 2K.
- The Outdoor 4's AA lithium batteries are non-rechargeable.
- With no plan, live view is limited to 5 minutes.
- Blink's own products page shows no price for the Outdoor 4 camera and does not list the Mini 2; it lists the newer Outdoor 2K+ and Mini 2K+.
- Blink's products and plans pages list no alarm system or professional monitoring.
Ring
- Nothing is recorded without a plan.
- A single camera plan costs more than Blink Basic ($49.99 against $39.99 a year as of October 2026).
- Ring Pro's smart features cost $5/mo per camera extra on Solo or Multi, and 24/7 recording is $3/mo per eligible camera (as of October 2026).
- Each address needs its own plan.
- Ring's Outdoor Cam (Battery) page gives no battery life figure, and Ring lists that camera as a 2019 release.
- Ring recommends a minimum upload speed of 15 Mbps for its 4K devices.
- Familiar Faces is not available in Illinois, Texas or Portland, Oregon.
Who each one suits
- Blink suits people who want no monthly fee and are willing to add a Sync Module 2 or XR with storage, people with a single camera who want the cheapest plan, and people who want a battery camera with a stated life of up to 2 years.
- Ring suits people with several cameras who want cloud video (Ring Multi costs less than Blink Plus), people who want up to 180 days of history, 4K, Power over Ethernet or 24/7 recording, and people who may add Ring Alarm with professional monitoring.
- Either works in an Alexa home: both makers list Alexa support.
Comparing more brands? See Wyze vs Ring and Arlo vs Ring.
What we could not verify
- Current prices for the Blink Outdoor 4 and Blink Mini 2. Blink's own products page shows no price for either model, and this page does not use reseller prices. Check a retailer for today's price.
- Whether Blink still sells the Outdoor 4 and Mini 2 new. Neither is among the products listed with prices on Blink's products page, which shows the Outdoor 2K+ and Mini 2K+. Blink's support site still documents both, and says the Mini 2 is available to order from retailers in the US and Canada.
- The price of a Sync Module 2 or Sync Module XR. Local storage needs one of them, and the Blink pages we read give no price for either.
- Release years for the Outdoor 4 and Mini 2. The Blink pages we read do not state them.
- Vehicle detection on the Outdoor 4 and Mini 2. Blink's plans list person and vehicle detection, but its Outdoor 4 and Mini 2 pages mention person detection only.
- Ring battery life. Ring's Outdoor Cam (Battery) page gives no figure to set against Blink's 2 years.
- Google Home and Apple Home. Neither maker states support on the pages we read.
- How long Ring's sale prices last. The Ring pages we read showed no end date.
- Reliability in use. On the pages we read, neither maker publishes figures for missed events, alert speed or uptime that could be compared.
How this comparison was put together
We did not test Blink or Ring devices. This page compares published information only:
- Blink's plans and products pages on blinkforhome.com and Blink's support articles
- Ring's plans page, product and collection pages, About and press pages, help article on Live View and blog post on using Ring without a subscription
Every source listed below was fetched on October 3, 2026. Prices are the prices shown on the makers' own sites that day, and no reseller prices or listings are used. Where this page says "not stated", the pages listed in the sources do not state it; that is not a claim that the feature is missing. The device cards below are listed in no ranked order, and they are not like-for-like matches: two Blink cameras and one Ring doorbell. The numbers on the cards only mark their position on the page. They are not a ranking and not the result of any test.
Blink and Ring devices listed on HomeGearLab, in no ranked order (the card numbers are not a ranking) and not like-for-like: two Blink cameras, one Ring doorbell
Blink
Blink Outdoor 4Battery outdoor camera with 1080p video that runs up to two years on two AA lithium batteries.
- +Up to 2 years of battery life on two AA lithium batteries with default settings
- +Saves clips locally with no monthly fee on a Sync Module 2 with a USB drive or a Sync Module XR with a microSD card
- −Needs a Blink Sync Module, and the Sync Module Core that comes only in bundles does not support local storage
- −Cloud recording and person detection need a Blink plan ($3.99/mo for one device as of October 2026)
- +No Sync Module needed: powered over USB-C and connects straight to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- +Built-in spotlight for night view in color, plus an infrared LED
- −Not listed on Blink's own products page as of October 2026, which shows the newer Mini 2K+ instead, and no official price was found
- −Saving clips needs a Blink plan, or a separate Sync Module 2 or XR with storage

Ring
Ring Battery Doorbell 4K Pro (2nd Gen)Battery video doorbell with Retinal 4K head-to-toe video and radar-based 3D Motion Detection.
- +Retinal 4K head-to-toe video (140 x 140 degrees) with up to 10x Enhanced Zoom
- +Radar-based 3D Motion Detection for person, package and vehicle alerts
- −Ring Protect plan needed for video recording and person alerts (from $4.99/mo as of September 2026)
- −Ring's product page lists Alexa, not Google Home or Apple Home
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Is Ring better than Blink?
It depends on your setup. Ring has 4K and Power over Ethernet models, stores cloud video for up to 180 days, and its whole-home Ring Multi plan costs less than Blink Plus ($99.99 vs $119.99 a year as of October 2026). Blink costs less for one camera ($39.99 a year for Basic) and can save clips locally with no plan if you add a Sync Module 2 or XR with storage.
Which is cheaper, Blink or Ring?
For one camera, Blink: Basic is $3.99/mo or $39.99/yr versus $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr for Ring Solo. For every camera at one home, Ring: Ring Multi is $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr versus $11.99/mo or $119.99/yr for Blink Plus. With no plan, only Blink can save clips, and that needs a Sync Module 2 with a USB drive or a Sync Module XR with a microSD card (prices as of October 2026).
Can you use Blink or Ring without a subscription?
Yes, both work without a plan. Blink gives you live view, motion alerts and two-way audio, and saves motion clips locally if the camera is on a Sync Module 2 with a USB drive or a Sync Module XR with a microSD card. Ring gives you Live View for up to 10 minutes at a time, motion alerts, Two-Way Talk, Motion Zones and Alexa, but reviewing recorded video requires a Ring subscription.
What do you need for Blink local storage?
A Sync Module 2 with a USB drive, or a Sync Module XR with a microSD card, each between 1 GB and 256 GB. The Sync Module Core, which Blink says comes only in bundles and is not sold separately, does not support local storage. The drive or card is sold separately, and the Blink pages we read give no price for either Sync Module.
What are the downsides of Blink cameras?
The highest resolution on Blink's products page is 2K, and the Outdoor 4 and Mini 2 record 1080p. Cloud video is kept for up to 60 days in the US versus up to 180 days on Ring. The Outdoor 4 needs a Sync Module, its AA lithium batteries are non-rechargeable, and local storage does not work with the Sync Module Core or the older XT, XT2 and Indoor (1st Gen) cameras.
Are Blink and Ring made by the same company?
Both are Amazon brands. Blink's site footer reads Blink, An Amazon Company. Ring's About page data names Amazon as its parent organization, and Ring's press page lists the April 2018 close of the acquisition. For buyers they are separate product lines: Blink cameras use the Blink Home Monitor app and Blink plans, and Ring devices use the Ring app and Ring Protect plans.
Do Blink and Ring work with Alexa?
Yes. Blink lists live view and two-way audio on Echo, Fire TV and Fire Tablet devices, arming and disarming by voice, doorbell press and motion announcements, and routines. Ring says Alexa integration is free with every Ring device, including Live View on a compatible Echo Show or Fire TV.