Last verified October 5, 2026

Best Home Security System for Apartments and Renters in 2026

By Ethan Halfhide · Updated

The best home security system for apartments is SimpliSafe for most renters: peel and stick sensors, no contract, and professional monitoring from $22.99 a month (simplisafe.com, as of October 2026). Ring Alarm is cheaper to monitor at $19.99 a month, and Wyze is cheapest at $9.99. Below, five no-drill systems compared on installation, contracts, monitoring cost and what happens when you move.

SimpliSafe security system kit: base station, keypad, entry sensors, indoor camera, key fob and motion sensorSimpliSafe
Ring Alarm 5-piece security kit: base station, keypad, contact sensor, motion detector and range extenderRing Alarm
Abode Iota All-In-One Security Kit: Iota hub with built-in camera, mini door and window sensor and keyfobAbode Iota

Product images: SimpliSafe, Ring Alarm, Abode Iota

The short answer

An apartment system has to stick on instead of screwing in, run on a plan you can cancel when the lease ends, and come off the wall on moving day. All five systems below use adhesive sensors and sell monitoring with no long contract. They differ on price, on what still works with no plan, and on what happens when the internet drops.

  • Best overall for apartments: SimpliSafe. Peel and stick entry sensors, plans paid monthly with no contract, app arming and live camera view even with no plan, and a Mover's Kit with new adhesives when you relocate. Professional monitoring starts at $22.99 a month.
  • Best for Ring and Alexa users: Ring Alarm. Ring Pro is $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year for 24/7 professional monitoring plus video recording for every Ring device at one address. The 5-piece kit was $199.99 on sale.
  • Best for studios and Apple Home: Abode Iota. One box holds the hub, a 1080p camera, a motion sensor and a 93 dB siren, and Abode works with no subscription at all.
  • Best if you only want professional monitoring: Cove. Every Cove plan includes 24/7 professional monitoring with no contract, from $0.67 a day, and the hub has 4G cellular backup.
  • Cheapest: Wyze Home Monitoring. 24/7 professional monitoring for $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year.

Prices are from each maker's own site as of October 2026. Several were sale prices that day.

Apartment security systems compared

Starter hardware (maker site, Oct 2026)Cheapest 24/7 professional monitoringWorks with no plan?ContractHow it mountsBackup if the internet dropsHub battery backup
SimpliSafeThe Starter: Base Station, Keypad, 3 Entry Sensors, Motion Sensor. Price not readable (see below)Standard, $22.99/moYes: app arm and disarm, live camera viewNone, plans are paid monthlyPeel and stick entry sensorsBuilt-in network backup, on professional monitoring plans onlyUp to 24 hours
Ring Alarm5-piece kit: $199.99 sale price (listed $244.95)Ring Pro, $19.99/mo or $199.99/yrPartly: keypad arming and the siren. No app arming or phone notifications without a planMonthly or annual, renews until canceledDouble sided tape on contact sensors and motion detectorAlarm Cellular Backup with a Ring Protect subscriptionUp to 24 hours
Abode IotaIota All-In-One kit: $399.00 list, $199.00 when bought with a monthly Pro planPro, $26.99/mo or $245.99/yrYes: app, live video, notifications, smart home integrationsNonePeel and stick4G cellular backup on the Pro planBuilt-in battery, runtime not stated
CoveHub and touchscreen alarm panel plus the sensors you pick. Prices not readableCove Basic, $0.67/dayNot stated. Every listed plan includes professional monitoringNone, cancel anytimeAdhesive strips4G cellular backup24 hours (panel: 4 hours)
Wyze Home MonitoringCore Starter Kit: $111.98 sale price (listed $155.98), sold out on October 5, 2026. Hub alone $55.98$9.99/mo or $99.99/yrPartly: sensors still send push notifications. The Keypad and emergency dispatch need a planNone, cancel anytimePeel and stick, screws also includedNone: Wyze says it does not support cellular backup10 hours

"Not readable" means the price was not in the page we fetched. "Not stated" means the maker's page did not say, not that the feature is missing.

What a year of professional monitoring costs

Our arithmetic from the plan prices above (October 2026), before hardware, tax and permit fees.

PlanYear 1 monitoring cost
Wyze Home Monitoring, paid annually$99.99
Wyze Home Monitoring, paid monthly$119.88
Ring Pro, paid annually$199.99
Ring Pro, paid monthly$239.88
Cove Basic ($0.67 a day for 365 days; Cove lists a daily rate only)$244.55
Abode Pro, paid annually$245.99
SimpliSafe Standard (no camera recording)$275.88
Abode Pro, paid monthly$323.88
SimpliSafe Core (with camera recording)$395.88

SimpliSafe: best overall for apartments

Who it's for: Most renters. The starter package covers three doors or windows plus a motion sensor, the app keeps working if you drop the plan, and SimpliSafe documents how to move the system to a new address.

Key facts

  • The Starter package includes a Base Station, a Keypad, 3 Entry Sensors, 1 Motion Sensor and a yard sign. SimpliSafe adds one free month of Core monitoring, then monitoring is charged separately.
  • No drilling for the sensors. SimpliSafe lists the Entry Sensor as wireless with "Peel & stick installation". It runs on one CR-2032 battery that lasts up to 5 years depending on usage, and it is for indoor use only.
  • One motion sensor can replace several window sensors. SimpliSafe says its Motion Sensor covers a room with a 90 degree field of view and a 35 ft range, and suggests a motion sensor for rooms with 3 or more windows.
  • Plans are paid monthly with no contracts, according to SimpliSafe's support page (updated June 29, 2026). Standard is $22.99 a month for 24/7 police, fire and medical dispatch without camera recordings. Core is $32.99 a month and adds unlimited camera recording. Self Monitoring with Camera Recordings is $9.99 a month with no professional monitoring. SimpliSafe's plans page lists the same plans by the day: Standard 76 cents, Core $1.10 and Self Monitoring 33 cents (as of October 2026).
  • With no plan you still get live camera view and remote arming and disarming in the SimpliSafe app. You lose emergency dispatch, the built-in network backup and camera recordings.
  • The Base Station plugs into a standard outlet, connects over Wi-Fi and has a backup battery that lasts up to 24 hours.
  • 60 day return with a full refund, and SimpliSafe pays for return shipping.
  • Moving. SimpliSafe will send a Mover's Kit with packaging and new adhesives if you call, and you change your monitoring address in the app. To remove a stuck sensor, it suggests sliding dental floss between the adhesive and the wall.

Trade-offs: SimpliSafe loads package prices in the browser, so we could not read today's price for The Starter. Its Wired Video Doorbell Pro needs an existing wired doorbell with a mechanical chime. The network backup only comes with professional monitoring plans. SimpliSafe's plan pages list Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant and August locks, and do not mention Apple Home.

We list the SimpliSafe home security system on HomeGearLab. For a closer look at the top two picks, see SimpliSafe vs Ring Alarm, and for other brands see our SimpliSafe alternatives.

Ring Alarm: best for Ring and Alexa users

Who it's for: Renters who already use Ring cameras or Alexa, and anyone who wants a monitored alarm and recorded video on one low bill.

Key facts

  • The 5-piece kit was $199.99 on ring.com as of October 2026, a sale price (listed $244.95). It includes a Base Station, a Keypad, 1 Door/Window Contact Sensor, 1 Motion Detector and a Range Extender. The 8-piece kit, with 4 contact sensors, was $249.99 on sale (listed $304.92).
  • Tape, not screws, for the sensors. Ring's installation guide says the Contact Sensor and the Motion Detector mount "using the double sided tape on the back". The Keypad can be screwed to a wall or placed on a table.
  • Ring Pro is $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year (ring.com, as of October 2026). It includes 24/7 professional monitoring and everything in Ring Multi, which records video for all Ring devices at one location with up to 180 days of history.
  • Ring Multi ($9.99 a month or $99.99 a year) has no professional monitoring. Ring lists Device Modes on it, which it describes as remote arming and disarming of Ring Alarm in the app.
  • Trial and Alexa. A free 30-day trial of Ring Protect starts when you set up the device. Ring says you can arm the alarm by asking Alexa, which needs a subscription.
  • The Base Station has a 104 dB siren (measured at 1 ft), a backup battery that lasts up to 24 hours, a Z-Wave radio, and connects by Ethernet or Wi-Fi. The warranty is one year.
  • A doorbell made for rented doors. Ring's Peephole Cam 2K ($99.99 on ring.com) replaces the peephole in your door. Ring says it is "designed specifically for apartments and condos", installs without drilling and removes cleanly when you move out.

Trade-offs: With no plan, you arm and disarm from the Keypad only. Ring's help page says the siren still sounds, but you get no phone notifications and no emergency response is requested. Arming from the Ring app needs a Ring Protect plan. Plans renew automatically until you cancel. Ring says it does not own its monitoring center. Wall mounting the Keypad uses screws and anchors, so renters should use the table stand.

Abode Iota: best for studios and Apple Home

Who it's for: Small apartments where one device can watch the main room, people who use Apple Home, and anyone who wants to self-monitor for free and add professional monitoring only when needed.

Key facts

  • The Iota All-In-One Security Kit includes the Iota Hub, 1 Mini Door/Window Sensor and 1 Keyfob. The hub has a built-in 1080p camera with a 127 degree horizontal field of view, a motion sensor and a 93 dB siren. Abode calls the kit "ideal for apartments or condos".
  • Price: $399.00 list on goabode.com as of October 2026, or $199.00 if you check out with a monthly Pro plan. Abode says removing the plan removes the discount.
  • Setup: Ethernet or 2.4GHz Wi-Fi. Abode says all devices use peel and stick mounting with no drilling or wiring.
  • No subscription needed. Abode says the system works out of the box with app access, live video, smart home integrations and push notifications at no charge.
  • Standard ($8.49 a month or $79.99 a year on goabode.com, as of October 2026) is for self-monitoring and adds an event timeline and person, package and pet detection. Pro ($26.99 a month or $245.99 a year) adds 24/7 professional monitoring and 4G cellular backup.
  • No contract. Abode says you can change or cancel a plan in the app at any time with no cancellation fee.
  • Smart home: Apple HomeKit, Alexa, Google Home, Zigbee and Z-Wave. The cheaper Abode Security Kit ($150.00 list, $75.00 with a monthly Pro plan) is not HomeKit compatible.

Trade-offs: The kit has only one door sensor, so budget for more. At list price it costs more than the Ring 5-piece kit and the Wyze starter kit. Abode does not state how long the hub's backup battery lasts, only that it gives "short-term power". Abode's own pages disagree with each other on some plan details (see "What we could not verify"). We used its plans page.

Cove: best if you only want professional monitoring

Who it's for: Renters who want a monitored system with a touchscreen panel and do not want it to depend on Wi-Fi.

Key facts

  • Hardware: a hub and a touchscreen alarm panel, plus the sensors you choose. Cove says sensors attach with an adhesive backing, no tools are required, and the average installation takes about 30 minutes.
  • Internet: the hub plugs into your router with an Ethernet cable and has 4G cellular backup. Cove's FAQ says you do not need Wi-Fi for the system. Only its cameras need 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
  • Backup power: a 24-hour battery in the hub and a 4-hour battery in the alarm panel.
  • Plans (covesmart.com, as of October 2026): Cove Basic is $0.67 a day, Cove + is $1.00 a day and Cove Premium is $1.33 a day. All three include 24/7 professional monitoring and are listed as "No Contracts, Cancel Anytime". Camera access starts at Cove +. Premium adds a lifetime equipment warranty (cameras excluded) and a $5 a month equipment credit.
  • Trial: 60 days, with a full refund if you send it back.

Trade-offs: Cove lists no self-monitoring plan, and we could not confirm what the system does with no plan. Equipment prices are in Cove's system builder and were not readable in the pages we fetched. Cove was advertising 70% off equipment on October 5, 2026, so compare the final cart price, not the discount. Basic and Cove + carry a 1 year equipment warranty.

Wyze Home Monitoring: cheapest

Who it's for: Tight budgets, and renters who already own Wyze cameras.

Key facts

  • Monitoring: $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year on wyze.com as of October 2026, with 24/7 professional monitoring by Noonlight and an included Cam Plus license. Wyze says there are no contracts and you can cancel anytime.
  • Hardware prices (wyze.com, as of October 2026): Wyze Sense Hub $55.98, Keypad $39.98, Entry Sensor 3-pack $49.98, Motion Sensor $24.98. Wyze's builder says the hub is free when you add it to the cart with the annual plan.
  • The Core Starter Kit (hub, keypad, 2 entry sensors, 1 motion sensor and 3 months of monitoring) was $111.98, a sale price (listed $155.98), but it was sold out on wyze.com on October 5, 2026.
  • Mounting: Wyze says every sensor and the keypad install by peeling and sticking. Screws are included if you want them. It supports up to 100 sensors and says you can "easily remove them if you move".
  • The hub connects by Ethernet or 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and has an 88 dB siren and a 10 hour backup battery.
  • Returns: 30 days.

Trade-offs: Wyze's builder lists a plan as required. Wyze's support site says the sensors still send push notifications to the app without one, but the Keypad stops working and no emergency services are dispatched. Wyze says it does not support cellular backup, so if the internet drops the system only works locally with its siren. Among the hubs that publish a backup battery figure, Wyze's is the shortest. Its siren is listed at 88 dB at 2 feet, and makers measure at different distances, so siren figures are not directly comparable.

Doorbells and cameras for an apartment

  • Front door. Ring's Peephole Cam 2K is the one doorbell here built for rented doors. Once it is installed you can no longer look through the peephole itself, and you view the door in the Ring app instead. The Ring Battery Doorbell 4K Pro needs no wiring, but Ring's instructions screw its bracket to the wall, so ask your landlord first. It was $149.99 on ring.com as of October 2026, a sale price (listed $249.99).
  • Inside. Abode's Iota hub has a camera built in, and SimpliSafe's indoor camera has a mechanical privacy shutter. A plug-in camera such as the Wyze Cam v4 ($44.98 on wyze.com as of October 2026) can sit on a shelf.
  • More camera picks. See our best indoor security cameras guide, or security cameras without a subscription if you want to avoid a monthly fee.

A camera pointed at a shared hallway also records your neighbors, so check your building's rules first.

How to choose a security system for a rental

  1. Decide who responds. With professional monitoring, an agent calls for help. Without it, you act on the alert yourself. SimpliSafe and Abode keep app control with no plan. Ring with no plan arms from the keypad and sends no phone notifications. Wyze's sensors still send notifications, but its keypad needs a plan. Every plan Cove lists includes professional monitoring.
  2. Look at your internet. Cove's hub plugs into a router by Ethernet. The Ring, Abode and Wyze hubs take Ethernet or Wi-Fi. SimpliSafe's Base Station uses Wi-Fi. If your building supplies shared Wi-Fi and you have no router of your own, ask the maker before you buy.
  3. Count the ways in. SimpliSafe recommends an entry sensor on every ground-floor door and window, and its blog notes that intruders have broken in through second-floor balconies and windows.
  4. Read your lease and tell your landlord. SimpliSafe's own apartment guide says you may need permission from the property manager, landlord or HOA before installing any wired or wireless system.
  5. Ask about permits. SimpliSafe says certain police and fire departments require a monitoring permit, and Ring says permit or false alarm fees may apply depending on your jurisdiction.
  6. Ask your insurer. Abode says a monitored system can qualify for a discount on renter policies. Your insurer decides, so ask before you count on it.

Building out the rest of a rental? See our best smart home devices for renters and best smart lock for renters guides. If you own your place or want hardwired cameras, start with our best home security systems guide.

What we could not verify

  • SimpliSafe package prices. They load in the browser and were not in the pages we fetched on October 5, 2026.
  • Cove equipment prices, and Cove with no plan. Prices sit in Cove's system builder. Cove's pages do not say what the system does without a monitoring plan.
  • ADT, Arlo and eufy. adt.com refused our requests, Arlo's security system page did not load, and we could not confirm a current product page for a eufy alarm kit with its hub. None is ranked here for that reason, not because we judged them worse.
  • SimpliSafe's siren volume. Its Base Station page says 100 dB and its Starter page says 95 dB.
  • Abode plan details. Abode's home page FAQ says plans start at $7 a month and that Standard includes professional monitoring. Its plans page prices Standard at $8.49 a month and describes it as self-monitoring. Its Iota page lists cellular backup on Standard and Pro, and its plans page lists it on Pro. The plans page also gives the Standard event timeline as 30 days in its FAQ and 10 days in its comparison chart.
  • Shared building Wi-Fi. No maker page we read explains how its hub behaves on a network with a login page.
  • Adhesive and your deposit. We found no independent data on paint or residue damage when sensors come off.
  • Response times and reliability. We found no independent data comparing how fast each monitoring center responds.

How this page was put together

HomeGearLab does not test products in a lab or at home. This page compares each maker's published product pages, plan pages, support articles and store prices, checked on October 5, 2026. Prices change often and several were sale prices that day, so confirm before you buy.

Renter-friendly security gear on HomeGearLab

1
SimpliSafe Home Security System

SimpliSafe

SimpliSafe Home Security System

No-contract DIY security system with optional monitoring billed month to month.

  • +No long-term contracts or cancellation fees on monitoring plans
  • +Monitoring is optional and cancellable month to month
  • −Camera recordings need a paid plan (live view works without one)
  • −No emergency dispatch or network backup without a professional monitoring plan
2
Ring Battery Doorbell 4K Pro (2nd Gen)

Ring

Ring Battery Doorbell 4K Pro (2nd Gen)

Battery video doorbell with Retinal 4K head-to-toe video and radar-based 3D Motion Detection.

$250
$200+
  • +Retinal 4K head-to-toe video (140 x 140 degrees) with up to 10x Enhanced Zoom
  • +Radar-based 3D Motion Detection for person, package and vehicle alerts
  • −Ring Protect plan needed for video recording and person alerts (from $4.99/mo as of September 2026)
  • −Ring lists Alexa support only; its product page does not mention Google Home or Apple Home
3
Wyze Cam v4

Wyze

Wyze Cam v4

Ultra-affordable color night vision camera with optional cloud and local storage

$45
$25-$75
  • +Extremely affordable
  • +Color night vision
  • −Person, pet, package and vehicle detection need a paid Wyze plan
  • −No HomeKit support listed by Wyze

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

What is the best security system for apartment renters?

For most renters, SimpliSafe: its entry sensors are peel and stick, plans are paid monthly with no contract, and the app still arms the system and shows live camera view with no plan. Professional monitoring starts at $22.99 a month. Ring Alarm costs less to monitor at $19.99 a month, and Wyze Home Monitoring is cheapest at $9.99 a month. Prices are from each maker's site as of October 2026.

Can you install a security system while living in an apartment?

Usually yes, because these systems are wireless and stick on with adhesive. SimpliSafe lists peel and stick entry sensors, Ring's contact sensors and motion detectors mount with double sided tape, and Abode, Cove and Wyze also use adhesive mounting. SimpliSafe's own apartment guide says you may still need permission from your landlord, property manager or HOA, so read your lease first.

Do I need a contract for an apartment security system?

Not with the five systems on this page. SimpliSafe says its plans are paid monthly with no contracts. Abode, Cove and Wyze all say there are no contracts and you can cancel anytime. Ring sells monthly or annual plans that renew until you cancel.

What is the cheapest professionally monitored system for an apartment?

Wyze Home Monitoring, at $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year for 24/7 professional monitoring by Noonlight. Ring Pro is next at $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year, then Cove Basic at $0.67 a day, SimpliSafe Standard at $22.99 a month and Abode Pro at $26.99 a month. Prices are from each maker's site as of October 2026.

Can I use an apartment security system without a monthly fee?

Yes, with limits. SimpliSafe with no plan still gives you live camera view and app arming, but no emergency dispatch or camera recordings. Abode says its system works with no subscription, including app access, live video and push notifications. Ring Alarm with no plan is armed from the keypad only, and Ring says you get no phone notifications. Wyze says its sensors still send push notifications without a plan, but its keypad and emergency dispatch need one. Every plan Cove lists includes professional monitoring.

Can I take my security system with me when I move?

Yes. These systems are wireless and stick on, so they come off the wall. SimpliSafe will send a Mover's Kit with packaging and new adhesives if you call, and you update the monitoring address in its app. Wyze says its sensors can be easily removed if you move. Whichever brand you use, change the monitoring address before you arm the system at the new place.

What are the best security cameras for apartments?

Ones that need no mounting. The Abode Iota hub has a 1080p camera built in, SimpliSafe's indoor camera has a mechanical privacy shutter, and a plug-in camera can sit on a shelf. For the front door, Ring's Peephole Cam 2K ($99.99 on ring.com, October 2026) replaces the peephole with no drilling.

How do I burglar proof my apartment?

Start with the ways in. SimpliSafe recommends an entry sensor on every ground-floor door and window, and suggests a motion sensor for rooms with 3 or more windows. Its apartment guide also notes break-ins through second-floor balconies and windows, so cover any balcony door someone could reach. A professional monitoring plan adds an agent who can call for help when you cannot.

Sources

About the author

Ethan Halfhide: Ethan Halfhide is a smart home enthusiast and AI technologist who follows the connected home market closely, from smart locks and security cameras to robot vacuums, lighting, sensors and hubs. He curates HomeGearLab's device directory, comparing products on published specs, compatibility, setup requirements and price so readers can pick gear that fits their home and works together.