Last verified September 30, 2026

Best Indoor Security Camera (2026)

By Ethan Halfhide · Updated

The best indoor security camera for most homes is the eufy Indoor Cam E30 ($69.99 as of September 2026): 4K, 360° coverage, free human and pet tracking, microSD recording with no monthly fee, and HomeKit support. The TP-Link Tapo C210 ($29.99) is the budget pick, and the Wyze Indoor Cam Pan ($39.98) has the best physical privacy mode for the money.

eufy Indoor Cam E30 4K pan and tilt indoor camera in whiteeufy Indoor Cam E30
TP-Link Tapo C210 pan and tilt indoor camera next to the Tapo appTapo C210
Wyze Indoor Cam Pan with arrows showing its pan and tilt rangeWyze Indoor Cam Pan

Product images: eufy Indoor Cam E30, Tapo C210, Wyze Indoor Cam Pan

The short answer

The best indoor security camera for most homes is the eufy Indoor Cam E30 ($69.99 on eufy.com as of September 2026). It records 4K to a microSD card with no monthly fee, pans a full 360°, spots and follows people and pets on the camera itself, and works with Apple HomeKit, Alexa and Google Assistant. If you want to spend less, the TP-Link Tapo C210 ($29.99) covers a room with pan and tilt, free person detection and local storage.

Indoor cameras live where you do, so the features that matter differ from an outdoor camera. Weatherproofing and battery life drop down the list. A real privacy shutter, pan and tilt coverage, pet and baby sound alerts, and what you pay each month move up.

  • Best overall: eufy Indoor Cam E30. 4K, 360° coverage, free human and pet detection with tracking, microSD recording, HomeKit support.
  • Best budget: TP-Link Tapo C210. 2K pan and tilt, person and baby cry detection, microSD up to 512 GB, $29.99.
  • Best physical privacy under $40: Wyze Indoor Cam Pan. The lens turns to face the floor and powers down, and it records 24/7 to microSD.
  • Best cheap pick for Apple Home: TP-Link Tapo C225. A button hides the lens, it has a long list of free sound and object alerts, and it works with Apple HomeKit. It was out of stock on TP-Link's US store as of September 30, 2026.
  • Best for Matter and Apple homes: Aqara Camera Hub G350. Dual lens, 9x hybrid zoom, a lens that retracts in privacy mode, and HomeKit Secure Video.
  • Best for zooming in on detail: eufy Indoor Cam S350. 4K dual camera with 3x optical zoom and dual-band Wi-Fi 6.
  • Best for Google Home: Google Nest Cam Indoor (wired, 3rd gen). 2K HDR and a wide 152° view, but video history beyond short previews needs Google Home Premium.
  • Best for Alexa households: Ring Indoor Cam (2nd Gen). A manual cover blocks the lens and mic, and it costs $24.99, but recording needs a Ring Protect plan.
  • Cheapest pan and tilt: Arlo Essential Pan Tilt Indoor. $20.99 on sale, with a privacy position that points the lens down, but saved video comes with an Arlo Secure plan.

Prices are from each maker's own US store as of September 2026. Several were on sale, and store prices change often.

Comparison table

CameraPrice (maker's US store, Sep 2026)VideoPan and tiltPrivacy hardwareRecords locally for freeWorks with
eufy Indoor Cam E30$69.994K360° coveragePrivacy mode (type not stated)Yes, microSD (24/7 and event)HomeKit, Alexa, Google Assistant
TP-Link Tapo C210$29.99 (list $34.99)2K (2304 x 1296)360° panApp privacy mode and zones onlyYes, microSD up to 512 GBAlexa, Google Assistant
Wyze Indoor Cam Pan$39.982K (2304 x 1296)360° x 103°Lens rotates to face the floorYes, microSD up to 512 GB (24/7)Alexa, Google Assistant
TP-Link Tapo C225$41.99 (list $49.99), out of stock2K QHD with HDR360° x 149°Button turns the lens downYes, microSD up to 512 GBApple HomeKit, Alexa, Google Assistant
Aqara Camera Hub G350$139.994K wide plus 2.5K telephoto360°Lens retractsYes, microSD up to 512 GB (24/7), NAS backupApple Home (HomeKit Secure Video), Matter, Alexa, Google Home
eufy Indoor Cam S350$139.994K dual camera360°Privacy mode (type not stated)Yes, microSD (24/7 and event)Alexa, Google Assistant (no HomeKit, no Google Home)
Google Nest Cam Indoor (wired, 3rd gen)$129.992K (2560 x 1440), HDRNoNo shutter; green LED while streamingNo; 6 hours of 10-second previews includedGoogle Home, Gemini for Home, Alexa
Ring Indoor Cam (2nd Gen)$24.991080p HDNoManual lens and mic coverNo; recording needs Ring ProtectAlexa
Arlo Essential Pan Tilt Indoor$20.99 (list $49.99)2K (2304 x 1296)360° x 180°Lens moves to face down in standby or Arm HomeNot listed; video history comes with Arlo SecureAlexa, Google Home, SmartThings, IFTTT

eufy Indoor Cam E30: best overall

Who it's for: Most people who want one camera that covers a whole living room, keeps an eye on a pet, and never asks for a monthly fee.

Key facts

  • $69.99 on eufy.com as of September 2026.
  • 4K UHD with a 125° diagonal view and 360° coverage.
  • On-device AI detects motion, humans, pets, audio and crying, and the camera follows a person or pet as they move.
  • A built-in spotlight gives color night vision up to 16.4 ft, with infrared night vision up to 32.8 ft.
  • Records 24/7 or on events to a microSD card (sold separately). eufy says all functions work without subscription fees, with cloud storage optional.
  • Works with Apple HomeKit, Alexa and Google Assistant. In HomeKit, video is limited to 1080p.
  • Compatible with eufy HomeBase 3 for extra storage.

Trade-offs: It connects to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only. eufy lists a privacy mode but does not say on the product page whether the lens physically moves or covers. eufy notes that push notifications with thumbnail previews use temporary cloud storage.

TP-Link Tapo C210: best budget

Who it's for: Anyone who wants pan and tilt coverage for a nursery, dorm or spare room for the price of a meal out.

Key facts

  • $29.99 on the Tapo US store as of September 2026 (list price $34.99). A 2-pack is $49.99.
  • 2K 3MP video (2304 x 1296), 360° pan coverage, motion tracking and up to 30 ft of night vision that TP-Link describes as invisible, with no distracting red lights.
  • Free person detection and baby crying detection, plus custom activity zones.
  • microSD up to 512 GB. Cloud storage needs Tapo Care, but TP-Link says a Tapo Care plan is not required to use its cameras.
  • RTSP and ONVIF support, so it can feed an NVR or NAS.
  • Works with Alexa and Google Assistant.

Trade-offs: Privacy is software only: you can pause recording and set privacy zones in the Tapo app, but nothing covers the lens. Notifications with a snapshot or clip are Tapo Care features. 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, and no pet detection is listed.

Wyze Indoor Cam Pan: best physical privacy under $40

Who it's for: People who want to see that the camera is off, not just trust an app toggle, without paying more than $40.

Key facts

  • $39.98 on wyze.com as of September 2026.
  • 2K (2304 x 1296), 360° pan and 103° tilt, 8x digital zoom, AI motion tracking.
  • Physical Privacy Mode: turn it on in the Wyze app and the lens rotates to face the floor, then powers down. Turning it off returns the lens to its last position.
  • Records 24/7 to a microSD card up to 512 GB (sold separately).
  • Pan Scan patrols up to four waypoints you set.
  • Works with Alexa, Google Assistant and IFTTT.

Trade-offs: Wyze's smart detections for people, pets, packages and vehicles come with Cam Plus, which costs $2.99 a month per camera. Indoor use only, and it supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only.

TP-Link Tapo C225: best cheap pick for Apple Home

Who it's for: iPhone households that want a physical lens cover and free smart alerts in a camera under $50.

Key facts

  • $41.99 on the Tapo US store as of September 2026 (list price $49.99). The store listed it as out of stock on September 30, 2026.
  • 2K QHD with HDR, an f/1.6 lens and a starlight sensor, at up to 30 fps.
  • 360° pan and 149° tilt coverage, with motion tracking at up to 120° per second.
  • Press the privacy button and the lens turns down, so the camera stops capturing footage.
  • Free AI detection listed for people, pets, vehicles, baby crying, meowing, barking, glass breaking, line crossing and tampering.
  • A switchable 940 nm infrared mode removes the red lights that TP-Link says can distract people or pets at night.
  • microSD up to 512 GB, RTSP and ONVIF, and Apple HomeKit, Alexa and Google Assistant support.

Trade-offs: Out of stock on TP-Link's own US store at the time of writing. Snapshots in notifications need Tapo Care. 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only.

Aqara Camera Hub G350: best for Matter and Apple homes

Who it's for: People building an Apple Home or Matter setup who want an indoor camera that also acts as a smart home hub.

Key facts

  • $139.99 on us.aqara.com as of September 2026.
  • A 133° 4K wide lens and a 2.5K telephoto lens, 9x hybrid zoom, 360° pan and tilt, and tracking for people and pets with optional close-up zoom.
  • Aqara says all AI processing happens on the device: faces, pets, gestures and six sounds including a baby crying and a dog barking.
  • microSD up to 512 GB for 24/7 recording, NAS backup, and opt-in end-to-end encrypted cloud storage.
  • True Privacy Mode: when the camera is turned off, the lens retracts.
  • Matter certified, with Apple Home (including HomeKit Secure Video), Google Home and Alexa support, dual-band Wi-Fi 6. It can also act as a Zigbee hub (for Aqara Zigbee devices only) and a Matter controller.

Trade-offs: It costs about twice as much as the E30. HomeKit Secure Video needs an iCloud+ plan and an Apple home hub (see the FAQ). Aqara notes that some features, including full pan and tilt control, need the Aqara Home app, and that video in Apple Home is limited to 1080p.

eufy Indoor Cam S350: best for zooming in on detail

Who it's for: Large open rooms where you want to read detail at the far end, and homes on Alexa.

Key facts

  • $139.99 on eufy.com as of September 2026.
  • 4K dual camera with 3x optical zoom and up to 8x digital zoom, 360° pan, tilt and zoom, and AI tracking of people and pets.
  • Detects motion, humans, pets, audio and crying, according to eufy's comparison chart.
  • Dual-band Wi-Fi 6 with WPA3, so it can use 5 GHz.
  • Local storage with no monthly fee and 24/7 recording. eufy says a 128 GB microSD card holds up to 120 hours (5 days) at the highest resolution.
  • Works with HomeBase S380 and HomeBase 3, plus Alexa and Google Assistant smart displays.

Trade-offs: eufy says it does not support HomeKit or Google Home. It is the most expensive eufy pick here, and no microSD card is included.

Google Nest Cam Indoor (wired, 3rd gen): best for Google Home

Who it's for: Homes already run through the Google Home app and Nest displays, where the subscription is part of the plan.

Key facts

  • $129.99 on the Google Store as of September 2026.
  • 2K (2560 x 1440) with HDR at up to 30 fps, a 152° diagonal view and 6x digital zoom.
  • Included without a plan: intelligent alerts for people, animals and vehicles, activity zones, and 6 hours of event video previews (clips up to 10 seconds).
  • Google Home Premium Standard ($10 a month or $100 a year) adds 30 days of event video history. Advanced ($20 a month or $200 a year) adds 60 days of event history and up to 10 days of 24/7 video. Gemini features need a Premium plan.
  • Dual-band Wi-Fi, a green LED when the camera is processing or streaming video, and Alexa compatibility.

Trade-offs: No pan and tilt and no physical shutter. Google's spec sheet lists no local storage, so full clips depend on the subscription. It needs the Google Home app and a Google Account.

Ring Indoor Cam (2nd Gen): best for Alexa households

Who it's for: Alexa homes, Ring Alarm owners, and anyone who wants a simple fixed camera with a lens cover you can see.

Key facts

  • $24.99 on ring.com as of September 2026.
  • 1080p HD with night vision and a 143° diagonal view.
  • A manual Privacy Cover slides over the lens and turns off video and microphone recording.
  • Privacy Zones, motion schedules and customizable motion detection in the Ring app.
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only.

Trade-offs: Ring says its products provide certain features without a plan, but video recording comes with Ring Protect. Ring Solo is $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year for one device, and Ring Multi is $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year. Modes such as Home and Away also need a subscription. For a deeper brand comparison, see Ring vs eufy.

Arlo Essential Pan Tilt Indoor: cheapest pan and tilt

Who it's for: Arlo households, or anyone happy to pay for Arlo Secure in exchange for a low hardware price.

Key facts

  • $20.99 on us.arlo.com as of September 2026 (list price $49.99). A 2-pack is $35.99.
  • 2K (2304 x 1296), 360° pan and 180° tilt, 12x digital zoom, automatic motion tracking.
  • Privacy state: in standby or Arm Home mode, the camera turns to face down, stops motion detection and turns off its microphone.
  • Dual-band Wi-Fi (2.4 and 5 GHz).
  • Works with Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings and IFTTT.

Trade-offs: Arlo says live streaming and basic alerts work without a subscription, and the camera comes with a one-month Arlo Secure trial. Video history (60 days) comes with a paid plan, which starts at $9.99 a month or $95.88 a year for a single camera. Arlo does not list a microSD slot for this model.

Privacy shutters, explained

Indoor cameras point at bedrooms, sofas and kitchens, so how a camera goes "off" matters more than it does outside. There are three types on this page:

  • The lens physically moves or hides. Wyze Indoor Cam Pan (lens faces the floor and powers down), TP-Link Tapo C225 (button turns the lens down), Aqara G350 (lens retracts) and Arlo Essential Pan Tilt Indoor (lens faces down in standby or Arm Home).
  • A manual cover. Ring Indoor Cam (2nd Gen) has a cover you swivel over the lens, which also stops microphone recording.
  • Software only. Tapo C210 privacy mode and privacy zones, and Nest Cam Indoor, which relies on account security and a status LED. The eufy E30 and S350 list a privacy mode without saying whether the lens moves.

If you want to glance at a camera and know it is not watching, pick one from the first two groups.

Pet and baby features

Nearly every camera here lists something for pets or babies, but the details differ:

  • Pet detection and tracking without a plan: eufy E30 and S350 (human and pet tracking), Aqara G350 (pet detection and tracking), Tapo C225 (pet detection plus meow and bark alerts).
  • Baby crying alerts without a plan: Tapo C210, Tapo C225, eufy E30, eufy S350 and Aqara G350.
  • Pet detection with a plan: Wyze Indoor Cam Pan (Cam Plus).
  • Nest Cam Indoor includes alerts for animals without a plan.

None of these are medical baby monitors. They send phone alerts over Wi-Fi, which can be delayed if your internet drops.

What each camera costs after year one

The cheapest camera is not always the cheapest to own. Using each maker's lowest published plan price as of September 2026:

  • No plan needed for recording: eufy E30, eufy S350, Tapo C210, Tapo C225, Aqara G350 and Wyze Indoor Cam Pan all record to a microSD card you buy once. Budget for the card.
  • Wyze Cam Plus for smart detections: $2.99 a month per camera.
  • Ring Solo for recording: $49.99 a year for one device.
  • Arlo Secure Smart Aware for one camera: $95.88 a year.
  • Google Home Premium Standard: $100 a year.

If you want to avoid fees entirely, our guide to security cameras without a subscription covers indoor and outdoor models that keep smart alerts free.

How to choose

  1. Start with your app. Apple Home: Aqara G350, eufy E30, or the Tapo C225 once it is back in stock. Google Home: Nest Cam Indoor. Alexa: Ring, eufy S350, or any of the Tapo and Wyze models. Mixed households can look at Matter support on the Aqara G350.
  2. Decide how "off" should look. If you want to see it, choose a lens that moves, retracts or gets covered.
  3. Count the rooms. An open living area suits a pan and tilt camera placed in a corner. A hallway or entry suits a fixed wide-angle camera like the Nest (152°) or Ring (143°).
  4. Add up the subscription. A $25 camera that needs $50 a year costs more after 18 months than a $70 camera that records for free.
  5. Check your Wi-Fi. Most picks here are 2.4 GHz only. The eufy S350, Aqara G350, Nest Cam Indoor and Arlo support 5 GHz.
  6. Plan the outside separately. Indoor cameras are not weatherproof. For the yard and driveway, see our outdoor smart cameras compared, and for the whole picture, home security cameras compared.

Choosing between the two big budget brands? Wyze vs Ring sets their plans and hardware side by side. If you are building a full system with sensors and monitoring, start with our smart home security systems guide.

What we don't know

  • Whether the privacy modes on the eufy Indoor Cam E30 and S350 move the lens or only stop recording. eufy's product pages list the feature without describing it.
  • When the Tapo C225 will be back in stock on TP-Link's US store, and whether its $41.99 sale price will hold.
  • Whether the Arlo Essential Pan Tilt Indoor can save any clips without a plan. Arlo's page lists live streaming and basic alerts as free and does not list local storage.
  • How long sale prices on the Arlo, Tapo and eufy stores will last. Prices on this page are a snapshot from September 2026.
  • Blink indoor cameras are not on this list because we could not load Blink's official product pages to confirm current specs and prices.

How this page was put together

We compared published specifications, prices and plan terms from each maker's own website, fetched in September 2026, with the privacy, pan and tilt, pet and subscription questions indoor buyers ask most. Picks come from published information only, not from our own lab work. Every price is from the maker's US store on the day we checked, and each claim links to its source in the list below.

Indoor cameras on HomeGearLab

1
Aqara logo

Aqara

Aqara Camera Hub G350

4K dual-lens pan-and-tilt camera that doubles as an Aqara Zigbee hub and Matter controller.

$140
$100-$200
  • +Aqara calls it the world's first Matter-certified dual-lens camera
  • +Works with Apple Home (including HomeKit Secure Video), Google Home and Alexa
  • −Zigbee hub supports Aqara Zigbee devices only
  • −Plug-in only, no battery
AlexaGoogle HomeHomeKit
2
eufy Indoor Cam S350

Eufy

eufy Indoor Cam S350

4K dual-camera pan-and-tilt indoor cam with local storage and no monthly fee.

$140
$100-$200
  • +Dual-camera 4K design with 3x optical and up to 8x digital zoom
  • +Local storage with no monthly fee, including 24/7 recording
  • −Plug-in only, needs a power outlet nearby
  • −No HomeKit or Google Home support, per eufy
AlexaGoogle Assistant

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

What is the best indoor security camera?

For most homes, the eufy Indoor Cam E30 ($69.99 on eufy.com as of September 2026): 4K video, 360° coverage, free human and pet detection with tracking, and microSD recording with no monthly fee. On a tight budget, the TP-Link Tapo C210 ($29.99 on Tapo's US store) adds pan and tilt, person detection and microSD storage.

Which indoor camera does not require a subscription?

Cameras that record to a microSD card you own. The eufy Indoor Cam E30 and S350, TP-Link Tapo C210 and C225, and Aqara Camera Hub G350 all record locally and include smart detection without a plan. The Wyze Indoor Cam Pan records 24/7 to microSD for free, but Wyze puts person and pet detection in its Cam Plus plan.

Which indoor security cameras have a physical privacy shutter?

On the Wyze Indoor Cam Pan the lens rotates to face the floor and powers down. The TP-Link Tapo C225 has a button that turns the lens down. The Aqara Camera Hub G350 retracts its lens. The Ring Indoor Cam (2nd Gen) has a manual cover that also stops microphone recording, and the Arlo Essential Pan Tilt Indoor points its lens down in standby or Arm Home mode.

Can I use an indoor security camera as a pet camera?

Yes. The eufy Indoor Cam E30 and S350 detect and follow pets, the Aqara G350 detects and tracks pets, and the Tapo C225 adds meow and bark alerts, all without a plan. Two-way audio on these cameras lets you talk to a pet from your phone.

Do indoor security cameras work with Apple HomeKit?

Some do. The TP-Link Tapo C225 (out of stock on Tapo's US store as of September 30, 2026), eufy Indoor Cam E30 and Aqara Camera Hub G350 list Apple HomeKit support, and the G350 supports HomeKit Secure Video. Apple says HomeKit Secure Video needs an iCloud+ subscription and a home hub such as a HomePod, Apple TV or iPad. eufy says the Indoor Cam S350 does not support HomeKit.

Can I put an indoor camera outside?

Not the ones on this page. Wyze says the Indoor Cam Pan is for indoor use only and has no IP rating, and Google lists the Nest Cam Indoor as indoor use only. Choose a camera with a weather rating for outdoor spots.

Is 2K good enough for an indoor camera?

For most rooms, yes. Indoors the subject is usually a few meters away, so 2K is enough to see faces and pets clearly. 4K helps in large open rooms or when you want to zoom in on detail, which is where the eufy S350 and Aqara G350 with their telephoto lenses stand out.

Do indoor cameras record all the time?

Some can. The eufy E30 and S350, Aqara G350 and Wyze Indoor Cam Pan list 24/7 recording to a microSD card. The Nest Cam Indoor records 24/7 only with the Advanced plan of Google Home Premium, which costs $20 a month or $200 a year as of September 2026.

Sources

About the author

Ethan Halfhide: Ethan Halfhide is a smart home enthusiast and AI technologist who follows the connected home market closely, from smart locks and security cameras to robot vacuums, lighting, sensors and hubs. He curates HomeGearLab's device directory, comparing products on published specs, compatibility, setup requirements and price so readers can pick gear that fits their home and works together.